“Faith makes things possible…not easy.” Leaving Roman Catholism.

COMING OUT OF HER…

I will never forget the time a friend of mine came out of Catholicism and became Born Again. He said, “Some day I will tell you everything that is wrong with the catholic religion.” Of course, I was offended….that was “my” religion and no one was going to tell me I was wrong. I was quite annoyed at him (to put it lightly).The whole concept of being Born Again was beyond my …comprehension.

As I sat in church years later as an active participant helping with CCD, starting a church nursery, etc I started being convicted by the Holy Spirit. The biggest conviction came to me about “Mary” and praying to or through the saints..

I began to ask questions with a sincere heart to fellow catholic believers as to why we did this and no one could answer me. I even went to the priest and asked him where in the Holy Bible we are told to worship Mary? He got so mad at me he yelled at me and told me ” THAT IS JUST WHAT WE DO!” He later brought me back a book about catholic worship to a mary and why we do it…I NEEDED God’s answer…I was devastated as I really liked this priest and REALLY with ALL my heart wanted to make sure I was correct in any kind of worshipping I was doing beyond JESUS.


I gave up on trying to find the answer and stayed put begrudgingly where I was.
One day was driving to pick up the boys from school I was flipping through the radio stations WAIT! WHAT! I had to stop scanning and go back..THERE IT WAS! I COULDN”T BELIEVE IT!
GOD’S ANSWER TO THAT QUESTION THAT BURDENED MY HEART! It was a Christian radio talk show and they were speaking on this very topic!!!!
THE SCRIPTURE THAT PROVED MY WORSHIPPING OF MARY AND SAINTS WAS WRONG:
JOHN 14:6
6 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

GOD KNEW I WAS SEEKING HIS ANSWER WITH A SINCERE HEART…I STILL MARVEL HOW GOD ANSWERED THIS QUESTION AND MARVEL EVEN MORE HOW SIMPLE HIS SALVATION PLAN FOR US IS.

I couldn’t “come out of her” right away because I was afraid of offending people (we can not fear-OR REVERENCE man- we are to REVERENCE GOD).
When I finally did I kept feeling like I am not “doing” enough….THERE IS NOTHING FOR US TO DO! AMEN! HE DID IT ALL! HE SAID BEFORE HE GAVE UP THE GHOST “IT IS FINISHED”! HE WAS NOT KIDDING! HE IS FOR REAL WHEN HE SAID THAT!
This morning I thank God for allowing us to “rest in Him”. May you, too, learn to rest in HIS finished work so you may know HIS freedom and TRUTH and to know HE is the ONLY WAY.
I never left to offend friends and family. I left to reverence and folllow the GOD of TRUTH.
I love you with the love of GOD that is why I share this testimony. For those that may be feeling conviction on their heart about practicing a religion instead of just resting in the finished work of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, may you find HIS peace. THE ULTIMATE PEACE. THE ONLY TRUE PEACE BY THE ONLY TRUE GOD.

P. S. I am very thankful to GOD for that friend now that wanted to tell me I was wrong and that GOD IS RIGHT! I got angry before I was ready to be set free and I thank GOD for HIS correcting conviction through His Holy Spirit for HIS children! Are you HIS child? Are you obeying HIM or man and a system? ❤

8 thoughts on ““Faith makes things possible…not easy.” Leaving Roman Catholism.

  1. Great testimony Elizabeth!!!!
    There was a rich personalness to this article. I liked all of it. You showed your original defensiveness towards your friend, God speaking to you in transitioning out of this religion, the priest’s rudeness to you when he couldn’t answer your question, and your feeling like you needed to be doing something…contrasted with resting in the finished work of Christ.
    This was very good sister!

    Can I add one suggestion please? Would you consider adding somewhere to the title wording about leaving R. C. ?
    This way, someone can readily recognize the article’s subject by the title. And it could be just what someone needs to read who’s stuck in R. C.

    Thank you for sharing your story. 😃

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Isn’t it amazing how much better resting in the finished work of Christ is than false religion?
    It’s so wonderful and simple.
    You’d think that every church would be shouting this message.
    Think of all the depressing bondage that people would be free from.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. AMEN! “CHURCHANITY” has poisoned the Word of God-His simple truth!
      It isn’t just Catholicism-Rick Warren Programs have infiltrated the church buildings! Celebrate Recovery for example. Though ‘he” has meant well, “his” programs hold people in bondage, too. Many would beg to differ with me, that’s fine. BUT when we are Born Again we are a new creature, made through our belief in Jesus through His Holy Spirit. We don’t have to depend on (be in bondage to) a 12 step program adopted from AA.

      Liked by 3 people

      1. God just used this post and replies to teach and guide me through a very serious life issue im experiencing. Thankyou sister for this post and praise the Lord! He constantley amazes me!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Another example is “Christian” counseling. I have a friend that went through a HEART WRENCHING divorce. She decided to go to “counseling”. She became dependent on this person-a man-that finally revealed he is transgender and started dressing as a woman… Another devastation to her! WE NEED THE LORD THROUGH HIS HOLY SPIRIT TO SEE US THROUGH THIS LIFE! I agree we need GODLY encouragement through our Godly Brothers and Sisters in Christ Jesus of Nazareth it’s the stuff that sucks us back in to bondage that is not healthy. Yes the devil sits right in the midst of church buildings enticing the Believer’s. Since leaving Catholicism I have become leary of everything that claims Jesus. We are to test EVERY spirit!
    **1 John 4:1-5**

    4 Beloved, believe not every spirit, but try the spirits whether they are of God: because many false prophets are gone out into the world.

    2 Hereby know ye the Spirit of God: Every spirit that confesseth that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh is of God:

    3 And every spirit that confesseth not that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh is not of God: and this is that spirit of antichrist, whereof ye have heard that it should come; and even now already is it in the world.

    4 Ye are of God, little children, and have overcome them: because greater is he that is in you, than he that is in the world.

    5 They are of the world: therefore speak they of the world, and the world heareth them.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

