QUOTING HERETICS: Tim Keller and his friends

“Now I beseech you, brethren, mark them which cause divisions and offences contrary to the doctrine which ye have learned; and avoid them.” – [Romans 16:17]
When I was attending a “Mega Emergent Baptist” church they promoted Tim Keller books and quoted C.S. Lewis many times! BE AWARE OF WHAT IS BEING QUOTED AND PROMOTED!

Biblical Connection

keller2 Tim Keller: a sheep in appearance, but a wolf in disguise

While I may privately read after a number of sources to stay abreast of the latest heresies or literature available, I am deeply aware that I must never exalt such literature or writers to a pedestal by quoting them in a positive or spiritual context.  I would hate to confuse a “weaker brother” who would then follow after such a man or heretic.  

Paul the apostle appears to have quoted from outright unbelievers’ literature at Mars Hill, which is precedent for the acceptability of reading and quoting literature by an unbeliever when the content is morally acceptable.  However, Paul showed absolutely no tolerance for false teachers. Never did he quote them.  Never did he bid them well.  In his Roman letter, he told believers to mark and avoid such men.  In his letter to the Galatians, he desired…

View original post 1,706 more words

One thought on “QUOTING HERETICS: Tim Keller and his friends

  1. Hi Elizabeth, I enjoyed your article, and I was surprised at what I read.
    I’ve never heard of Tim Keller, (as best I can recall). But I have heard of C. S. Lewis…I didn’t know that he was a works-salvation guy. Thank you; that was interesting. And have a nice day. 😃

    Like

Leave a Reply

